Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee

Committee Chair
Jeffery Schorey, Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Contact Information
(574) 631-3734

Description of Committee
Reviews and approves any time animals are used in any research studies and instructional programs (it is required by the federal government and the University that the care and use of all vertebrate lab animals be monitored by this committee). Committee make-up reflects federal mandate for committee membership (attending veterinarian, scientist(s) using animals, scientist(s) not using animals, non-institutionally-affiliated member representing the community at large and ethicist).

Number of Members

Frequency of Meetings

Reporting Structure
Robert Bernhard, Vice President for Research

Committee Members

  • Satish Adusumilli, DVM, Director &amp Attending Veterinarian, Concurrent Research Assistant Professor
  • Richard Dahl, PhD, Assistant Professor of Microbiology &amp Immunology, Indiana University School of Medicine-South Bend, Adjunct Assistant Professor, Biological Sciences, University of Notre Dame
  • Eric Felde, JD, CIP, Director, Research Compliance
  • Lisa Phillips, Lab Safety Compliance Manager, Risk Management &amp Safety
  • Jennifer Robichaud, Associate Professional Specialist, Biological Sciences
  • Valerie Schroeder, Senior Lab Animal Technician, Freimann Life Sciences Center
  • Jeffrey Schorey, PhD (Chair), Professor, Biological Sciences
  • Tracy Slattery, Community Member, South Bend Community School Corporation
  • Kay Stewart, Associate Professional Specialist, Biological Sciences
  • Rebecca Wingert, PhD, Elizabeth and Michael Gallagher Family Professorship in Adult Stem Cell Research and Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Alternate Member

  • Ryan Angel, IACUC/IBC Program Coordinator, Notre Dame Research Compliance

For more information, click here to visit Notre Dame Research’s website on Animal Research

Information last updated 7/26/2017